Two Yellow Bathrooms

If you know me you know that I am a) not a crafty, projecty, home maintenance type of gal and b) not afraid to let people know about my struggle.

So if you enjoy a good story about a person who isn’t the best at anything crafty- you are in the right place.

Let me continue with the story of Nat and I painting our half bathroom. I suggested going to Home Depot at 9:00 PM to pick out samples. We got home at, let’s say, 9:30 and then painted some samples on the wall. After about 5 minutes I knew exactly what I wanted so I convinced Nat that he needed to go and buy the paint so that I could start painting immediately when I woke up in the morning. (I was obviously blinded by my optimism).

Nat got home at around 10 and I decided that starting to paint at 10:00 was the best idea of the day. *Let us all remember that my bedtime is usually 10:30, so anything started at 10:00 is dangerous.

We started to paint. And I started to doubt my ability. I tried to paint the trim while Nat used the roller. Let me be really clear- I TRIED to paint the trim. By try I mean, I got paint all over the floor, myself, and the sink. I pretty much painted everything except the trim. Anyway, after about 30 minutes of painting I started to cry/whine/get upset because “I am not good at painting.” But, soldier on we did. Nat is super positive and is also really good at most things so he kept doing a great job and I kept whining.Eventually 12:00 came and my body/eyeballs/emotions became exhausted and started to shut down, so it was off to bed for me hoping the next day I would wake up with all of the painting skills I lacked the night before.

The next day we got up and helped some of our friends move and then I headed back to the house to start up the painting adventure again. The main issues I had to solve were the trim at the top and oh, everything involving trim around the sink and the toilet. I started painting, sent my mother a text that said something along the lines of “I am a hot mess/this bathroom painting is a hot mess”, cried a little bit, texted Nat and begged him to come home and save me from my madness. As I got more and more desperate I started to figure out a solutions to my pitiful problems, BLUE EDGING TAPE. Instead of painting, I taped up every edge in that bathroom so that Nat could come home and finish painting easily.

And he did come home and he did finish painting! He finished it and then we pulled off the tape and along with the tape came the paint that he spent so much time painting on the trim. BUMMER. But bless my husband’s heart, while I was crying and pouting about my wasted time taping, he repainted everything I messed up. Winner winner, right there.

So we made it through our first painting experience. We had a lovely yellow half bath and I was excited/ dreading having to paint any other rooms in our house.

*Oh don’t let me forget to mention the horrible decision I made to paint a sample stripe on my master bathroom wall because I was certain we would be so good at painting we would get both bathrooms painted in 2 days. Hahaha…so naive. 

Please stay tuned for part 2 of Two Yellow Bathrooms.

Leave a Reply

