Chili Weather

Notice that as I am trying to achieve my "southern" look..I still have my watch on. Always somewhere to go, always somewhere to be on time.

Major throwback, but I was trying to be southern in this picture

I am not Southern. No matter how hard I try and no matter how long I live in the South, I will never be able to count myself completely Southern. I was born to and raised by Northerners and we weren’t introduced to many southern concepts until I was around the age of 9.

Basically, once you pass 9 you have little chance of having a lot of Southern influence on your life.

I don’t like sweet tea, grits, sweet potatoes, and I just started eating fried okra about a year ago. I don’t get the obsession with biscuits and gravy, and I don’t know if I will ever get to the point where I can enjoy chicken fried steak. Sorry, but I am just not going to be southern in that way.

Besides all of the aforementioned traits I lack, one other has become blatantly clear about my un-Southerness. CHILI 

Now there are a lot of arguments about what “real” chili is, but, if I am being perfectly honesty, I haven’t had a dog in that fight ever because my family’s definition of chili is very far from the southern “normal.” (Our chili has macaroni noodles in it; told you, we are far off the grid).

So, now that I have confessed that, I can get on with my life and this post. I have always wondered how people make the chili I have been served at many a tailgate/football watching party/anything potluck and so I rose to the occasion and I made chili.

I will not lie to you; this chili was delicious and it has gotten better each time I have warmed it up. I cheated and used a package of seasoning (2 alarm chili- amazing), but I didn’t have time to hand chop a bunch of things. So, for you Southern fakers out there, here is a really easy chili recipe.

*I must warn you before hand, this makes a lot of chili. It served 5 people one night and so far has been my lunch and both of our dinner one night. We are going to finish it up tonight. If you are going to make this- I hope you plan to share, or freeze, or are really hungry.

The Wanna-be Southern girl chili

1 can corn

1 can rotel

1 can black beans

2 cans kidney beans (I used dark red kidney beans; I don’t know the difference)

1 large can diced tomatoes (I believe it is 29 oz. Whatever the bigger can is- get that)

1 large can + 1 small can tomato sauce (Again, I think the large is 29 oz and the small is 14.5; hopefully you will know what I am talking about)

4 pounds (ish- I don’t know the exact poundage) ground chuck, cooked *The one thing I think I would change if I am to make this again would be the kind of meat I put in the chili. For some reason I found myself wanting a more substantial meat. HOPEFULLY, my dad will be giving me some venison from his most recent hunt and I can make venison chili.

1 “2 Alarm Chili” seasoning kit

1 1/2 cans of water (the small can that the corn comes in; fill that bad boy up with water. This is thick chili anyway, so this helps break it up a little bit)

And so, this is the easiest of easy recipes- You dump it all in the crock pot, yes, all of it (make sure the meat is cooked before you do). I put all of the seasonings from the 2 alarm kit in except for 1/2 of the salt, the flour, and I only did 1/2 bag of the Red Pepper. I like spicy food, but this was meant for more than just me.

Let cook in the crockpot on high for 2 hours (or so…)

Top with cheese, fritos, sour cream, onions, black olives, etc…Whatever your heart desires.

ENJOY (And share with friends- you will eventually tire of eating chili if you don’t!)

Leave a Reply

