Happy Fall Y’all!

I realize that fall has been around for quite awhile now, but it has been a couple of weeks since I’ve been on here.

Fall is in full swing in Knoxville. We are having some beautiful, actual Fall weather and I couldn’t be more thankful. We had one really cold snap for a week and I worried we would run straight into winter, but the weather changed her mind and gave us a few weeks of beautiful crispness.

Anyway, because it is fall I have jumped back on the soup train. If you know me, you know that I love to make soup (and eat soup!). When I was younger I didn’t like soup, and I was one of the few people in the world who did not eat chicken noodle soup. I just didn’t get it and I sure didn’t like it. Now, as an adult, cooking in my own kitchen and learning my own flavors, I have realized I love soup. There is so much more out there than just the Campbell’s variety. Soup doesn’t have to be a wimpy side; it can be a hearty meal and that is just how I like it.

Now, being a lover of soup, especially soup that acts a meal, I was bound and determined to make a Baked Potato soup from scratch that I love. I could eat potato soup every day, but I couldn’t find a recipe that I agreed with completely- so I blended a few recipes and made my own.

My big issues when looking for a potato soup recipe were either time or texture. Some soups were going to take 3-4 hours in a slow cooker (and I wanted to eat it right away) or they didn’t have chunks of potatoes (and I like to have something to chew in my potato soup). I combined a few different things and this is what I ended up with:

Baked Potato Soup:

DSC_0838

6-7 slices of thick cut bacon

1 onion, diced

4 cloves of garlic, minced

6-7 medium russet potatoes, peeled and chopped

4 cups chicken broth

1 cup heavy cream

salt and pepper to taste

cheese, scallions, crackers, etc for topping

1) Cook the bacon in a soup pot/dutch oven/etc until crispy. Remove the bacon once cooked; drain some, but not all of the bacon grease ( I never said this was diet potato soup. This girl loves bacon). Crumble the bacon and put aside (and try not to eat all of it before the soup is ready. I can’t confirm or deny that by the time the soup was ready I had enough bacon for one person’s soup).

2) Cook the onions and garlic until onions are tender. (Can I just say, garlic and onions cooking is one of my favorite smells of all time. Onions used to freak me out until I started cooking, and I now I say- bring on the onions!)

3) Add the potatoes to the pot and let them cook for about 5 or so minutes until they start to get tender

4) Pour the chicken broth in with the potatoes/onions/garlic mixture. I let this sit for about 10 minutes on medium heat. The potatoes at this point should start to get soft.

5) After about 10 minutes or so, take out about 1/2 of the chunks of potatoes and blend with the heavy cream until smooth. (In some recipes they take out about 2/3’s but, like I said, I like a little something to chew on).  Pour the mixture back in the pot and stir to combine.

6) Let sit, on medium low heat, for another 15-20 minutes or until warm all the way through.

7) Top with crumbled bacon, cheese, and whatever other toppings you like on your soup and enjoy!

This recipe made enough for Nat and I to have soup for 2 dinners (and I had it for one afternoon lunch).

 

Leave a Reply

