Just Write

just write

I’ve been meaning to write about this for a while, but I haven’t really been able to collect my thoughts about the situation very well. Here I am though, I found an outlet, and I don’t really have any other excuse. I am too lazy to turn on the tv and to turn on the xbox and pick something from netflix, so I will write.

I am 24 years old, and up until about a month ago, I always had a place I called “home.” You know what I mean, the place where your parents live, you grew up, you go to visit. We are going “home” this weekend.

I count Knoxville as my home. It is the place that I live, work, and spend my life. It is where my husband and I are putting down new roots.

The thing is, my parents have moved from my “home” in West Tennessee to a far away place- Wisconsin.

It isn’t like Wisconsin is a place I have never been. Some may say that I am actually from there. Almost every single relative I have lives in Wisconsin. We spent time there almost every summer of my childhood. But still, that isn’t my home. I didn’t grow up there. I didn’t go to school there. The majority of my memories were not made there.

It is really weird this whole, being an adult child thing. My parents don’t make their decisions based on what would be best for me or based on me and my siblings in general. It is their life again. They are empty nesters and I am so glad they have the freedom to do what they wanted to do.

I believe this is probably one way God is forcing me to make Knoxville my home home. He is lovingly showing me that I have gotten married, moved out, and should now let go and hold on to my husband.

So now, holidays and vacations are going to be weird. Instead of going to the obvious choice, West TN, I am going to have to decide on where to go. Do I go visit my sister in West TN? Do I go visit my parents? Where is Christmas going to happen? There is no middle!

There are so many things I could easily worry about, but I am learning that even in the crazy, chaos that is our lives, my family seriously loves each other and we will work it out.

Home is where the heart is, so if the heart is in Wisconsin, and Knoxville, and Munford, and Mississippi, then I have will just have a lot of homes…

Leave a Reply

