Things Change

For the 4th of July, I went to visit 2 of my girlfriends from college. Since we all graduated (some of us twice!) we have moved, gotten married, and made a lot of big changes. The beautiful thing about the friendships with these girls is that even when we are separated for a while, we get back together and we click instantly.

I am learning that in this season of life, a lot of things change and they usually change quickly. I am also learning that when things change  they are usually for the better, even if they are really hard changes at first. I just praise the Lord for lasting friendships like these. We had such a fun time.

IMG_1073

Another thing in life I have learned that changes are taste buds. Now, I know this is sort of silly, but it is true. There are things I love now that I couldn’t stand to look at a few years ago. I hated tomatoes, vinegar, onions, and most importantly AVOCADO. I can’t even explain to you how much I disliked avocado. The texture freaked me out and truthfully, it was nasty.

Well- like the title of this post says- things changed and one of my new favorite things is avocado. If we want to get more specific, I love guacamole. Seriously, it is the best thing ever. Over the weekend, we ate at a mexican restaurant and got guacamole and all I could think about since then was eating some more.

Tonight Nat and I had tacos, and I figured it would be the appropriate time to make some guacamole. I looked around at recipes and just took pieces from random places and I feel like my creation ended up being pretty delicious. (Also, you look super healthy at the grocery store when you buy the ingredients for guacamole. All veg!)

DSC_0783

Guacamole

avocados

1/2 small red onion, diced

1/2 small lime, juiced

1/2 cup cilantro, diced, stems removed

coarse salt, to taste

fresh ground pepper, to taste

1/2 tomato, diced, seeds removed

Cut avocado in half, remove the seed. Scoop avocado from peel and put in mixing bowl. Mash the avocado with a fork. Don’t over mash, it should be a little chunky. Add onion, lime juice, cilantro, salt, and pepper. Mash a little bit more with the fork. Before serving add the tomato.

Serve with tortilla chips or on a sandwich or on a taco or on a burger…the opportunities are endless!

Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Things Change

  1. Avocado is the best thing ever! I’m in Ecuador this summer, and it has SAVED me when I don’t feel like nommin on other foods. There is avocado at just about every meal and I am loving it!

  2. I’ve never tried it this way… I usually by a guacamole mix from Kroger and add it to the mashed avocado lol. This recipe seems simple enough for me to handle though! Haha

Leave a Reply

