Family Cruisin’ pt. 3

Sorry for the delay between Parts 2 and 3-  Nat and I went to visit his family and I didn’t get around to posting.

This is part 3 about my family’s vacation this summer. There are 2 other parts: Family Cruisin pt. 1 and Family Cruisin pt. 2

Our third excursion took us to Ephesus, which is technically in Ismir, Turkey. Ephesus is a very important city to Christians because that is the city Paul wrote to in Ephesians. It was fascinating to find out that Ephesus was underground until the 1950s! The city had been abandoned due to malaria and had been lost until the 1950s.

DSC_0521This is Nat and I in front of the Library in Ephesus. This wasn’t built until after Paul came through, but it was incredible to see these ruins from so long ago.

DSC_0543The amphitheater in Ephesus was absolutely incredible. I can only imagine what it was like when it was filled with people. The area in the background, where the road is, used to be where the docks were. Ephesus used to be a city on the water, but over time, the water receded and eventually the city was covered under ground.

I don’t think I will ever read Ephesians the same after walking in the footsteps of Paul. I could only imagine what it was like when Paul was there, preaching the Gospel.

Our final stop on the cruise was Split, Croatia. Again, Croatia did not disappoint. Split was absolutely gorgeous and I couldn’t get enough of the beauty of the city. We didn’t go on an excursion with a tour guide, but rather took our time and wandered around the city on our own.

DSC_0599

We climbed up the bell tower in the city to get the most amazing view of the city. There is nothing like the view of this place. We were exhausted (and sweaty) after walking up the stairs, but the view at the top was definitely worth it.

DSC_0606

Again, I can’t express how blessed I feel to spend this time with my family. It was so great to experience this city and all the other cities with my family. We are looking forward to adding Sue Ann into our family in August. I love that I am surrounded by loving, Christian women.

The area we explored in Split was a palace area. We only spent a few hours in the city, but we really enjoyed our time.

Overall, this cruise was an amazing experience. I can’t wait until I get another chance to go back to Europe and explore more countries. I definitely have the travel bug!

Leave a Reply

