Family Cruisin’ pt. 2

This part 2 of my posts about my family’s vacation. Here is the first post: Family Cruisin’ pt. 1

The cruise took us to three different countries and four different cities. We visited Dubrovnik, Croatia, Athens, Greece, Ephesus (Ismir), Turkey, and Split, Croatia. I will not lie, traveling around these cities made me want to move to Europe. As we were there I seriously considered looking into teaching in Europe for a year.

(Coming home though, and getting back on American soil, made me change my mind. I love my home too much)

Our first stop was Dubrovnik, Croatia. This city shocked me. Truthfully, I had never heard of Dubrovnik before this cruise, and I had no idea what to expect before we got there. After visiting- I have to say, if you get the chance to go to Dubrovnik, Croatia- go. It is on the beautiful coastline, the people are friendly, and there is a lot of great history in that city.

DSC_0184

On the ship entering the Dubrovnik coast

DSC_0201

This city is gorgeous!

We had an awesome tour guide who taught us a lot about this city. If you didn’t know- Dubrovnik is one of the places they film the tv show Game of Thrones. I am not a fan of the show, but my soon to be sister-in-law is, and it seemed pretty exciting to see all the places they film.

DSC_0249

We took a cable car to the top of a mountain in Dubrovnik. We were able to see a fort from their war and also take in this amazing view. Dubrovnik has a lot of interesting history that I had no idea about. They were involved in war as current as the 90s. Everyone in the city was friendly. Their economy is based majorly on tourism and they made sure that we felt very welcome. Such a beautiful city!

Our next stop along the way was Athens, Greece. This was exciting for the historical aspect. I knew the most about where we were going and what we were planning on seeing. Athens as a city was huge and we didn’t spend much time walking around the city. Our main focus was seeing the Acropolis- and we did! I still am in awe that I saw these amazing things. WOW

DSC_0390

Nat and I in front of the Parthenon. I need to pinch myself!

The view from the Acropolis was incredible and we got to see a beautiful view of the entire city.

DSC_0396Nat and I explored a little bit on our own and wandered over to the Mars Hill area where Paul preached. I am in amazement that I have been in the same place that Paul stood and preached the gospel. I feel like I will always look at Acts a little differently now. The areas we explored in Athens were filled with history. We saw a lot of ruins throughout the city. It was really interesting to see how the city is so modern, but has also maintained the ruins and the historical aspect of that area.

DSC_0408

Dubrovnik and Athens were both incredible places to visit. They both offered different things and were entirely different experiences. Tomorrow I will post about the final two cities we visited and the experiences we had there.

Leave a Reply

