Marriage: Year 1

I can’t believe that mine and Nat’s first anniversary is on Saturday. I have been thinking about last year at this time and I get a little teary eyed thinking about how much fun and how blessed we were feeling last year at this time. June 8th was such a special day. I am blown away by how far we have come since that day, and how fun marriage has been. I am so thankful that marriage is for life, and not just the wedding. We still have so much to learn, but we also have so much to look forward. Marriage has been the greatest blessing, and I am so thankful to God for divine intervention in placing Nat in my life.

This has been such a great first year of marriage and I can’t help but celebrate by reminiscing on the year.

1W5A1926 copy

Saying “I do” to this man was the best choice I have ever made. I am so thankful to Jesus for him.

We had an awesome honeymoon in Jamaica- I celebrated my 23rd birthday with an amazing dinner on the water.

DSC_0166We made it through our first football season as husband and wife. It was a hard adjustment, but it has made me so grateful and definitely more prepared for this fall. Being a football coach’s wife was not what I envisioned for myself, but I feel like I am being blessed beyond measure by my husband’s dream. I am excited to see where football takes us throughout life.

IMG_0909

For the first time ever, we were together for Christmas! We celebrated Thanksgiving with Nat’s family and Christmas with mine, and I think both of the holidays went great! I have no idea what this year will be like (always dependent on football), but I am thankful that Nat and I both have awesome families and I definitely love my in-laws like no other.

DSC_0362

We celebrated many friends’ marriages- what a joy and blessing to be a part of many special days. It has been really fun to watch our friends get married and add more fun to our young married club! I am very aware, however, that eventually we will stop having weddings and we will move towards baby showers. Lord, help me, lets wait a few years!

DSC_0119 DSC_0049

We have spent many countless, special, hilarious hours with an awesome group of friends. It has been so fun to be around so many other young, married couples.

We got to go on a great spring break trip to Disney World. I count that trip as our 2nd honeymoon, because Disney World was my choice for our honeymoon and I got vetoed. It was one of the most fun trips I have ever been on. We definitely were exhausted when we got home and I won’t say it was a relaxing vacation, but it was awesome.

DSC_0605

And..we made it through our first year of teaching. Praise Jesus,  for that victory. Our life is weird; we teach the same subject at the same school. I really feel like there could have been nothing better than sharing my first year of teaching with my husband. Working together also helped us (ME) get through our first football season. We love our jobs and we love our school.

IMG_0883

After such a great first year of marriage, I can only look forward to the years to come. Here’s to spending my life with my best friend!

Choose Joy

Sarah

2 thoughts on “Marriage: Year 1

Leave a Reply

