Adding color

Living in an apartment is not the best for decorating. We are allowed to paint, but it is such a hassle because we would have to paint over it when we move out. There isn’t a lot of space, so I do what I can with what I have.

Our bedroom has been a source of stress for me. There isn’t a lot you can do in that small of space, and we don’t want to buy a lot of new furniture until we own a house. We can deal with hand me downs and older things during this season.

I have been stuck in a rut with colors. Our bedspread is grey and white, which opens up a lot of opportunities for other colors, but I have a hard time making a decision about what I want to do. I think it has something to do with commitment…whatever, I’ll deal with that later.

Anyway, I was perusing Pinterest the other day and saw the Grey/Coral combo and I immediately knew that is what I wanted to do. I have tried really hard to make our apartment “gender neutral” or at least less girly than I would usually have it. We don’t have a lot of pinks, because I don’t want Nat to feel like he is living in a girl world.

That has now changed. I will admit- I did ask Nat if he minded having coral in our bedroom. All he asked was that I still stay out of his closet (that is his area in our apartment). Deal.

I started with plain, white lamps:

DSC_0001

I bought these at Target for like $15 a piece- one for each side of the bed.

I sanded them down with just a piece of sand paper.

I used Behr Ultra in Japanese Kimono. I painted 2 coats, just to make sure.

DSC_0026This is the final product! A very simple pop of color (and they match my coral pillow cases).

My second project to add some coral color in our bedroom was this standing shelf:

IMG_0910I bought this at an antique store for like $10. We sanded it down and used the same color paint we used for the lamps.

After a couple of coats of paint and a few decorative pieces- here is the final product!

DSC_0028The dried flower on top are my bouquet from our wedding. My sister made the twine “S” which was also used at our wedding.

It is rare that I enjoy decorating, but these were actually fun (simple) projects that newbies like me can enjoy!

Have a great Saturday 🙂

Sarah

Leave a Reply

