Mid-Week Things (a day late!)

To all of my teacher friends: Happy Summer!

I am sorry this is a day late. Summer break makes me forget the days of the week, and it wasn’t until 9 o’clock last night that I realized it was Wednesday. Anyway, I am only one day behind so that is forgivable, right?

1. Nat and I ran the Expo 10k in Knoxville on Saturday. I finished in little over an hour, and ran .06 more than I was supposed to. This is the 2nd race I’ve run with my Garmin watch and have realized i’ve run more than I was supposed to. It was a great race, and I feel really encouraged after running. I have been stuck at 4 miles for awhile and haven’t been able to push myself to run to 5 miles, but now I know I can and I can do it well!

2. I am excited for summer because I have a lot of good foods I want to make. I am finally going to try the brownie cupcakes and near the end of the summer it is my goal to make a bunch of freezer meals to help Nat and I get through the fall. I think that will really help me in the first few weeks (months) of the school year as I get used to the rhythm of the school year and football season.

3. IMG_0936We celebrated two of our friends getting married this weekend and it was so fun! It was nice to just spend time with our friends and be joyful. I can’t say it enough- we really have great community in Knoxville and we are so blessed to be where we are right now.

4. This week I have felt really challenged to make my summer purposeful and to spend time thinking about next school year, and also what I want to do in Knoxville since we have decided to make this place our official “home town.” Our community group has been reading David Platt’s “Radical.” At the end of the book Platt lists a challenge to live a radical life. I have already felt like I should be more intentional in praying and reading the Bible, and part of his challenge is praying for the World and reading the Word in a year.

I want to spend the summer really reading the word and also being more intentional in my prayer life. My prayers are usually “Thanks, God for the food and for my blessings..Amen.” I feel like I need more than that.

5. The other day, as I wasted time at work, I came across this article on Runnersworld.com. It had me laughing (even though it really isn’t funny) because it was so Nat and I. We both love running. We both count ourselves as runners. We love to run races and to challenge ourselves, but WE DO NOT RUN TOGETHER. Let me make that clear: we do not run together. I will ask Nat to run with me, but then 15 steps into our run, I automatically regret it. Nat loves running and naturally excels at it. I love running, but it is painful for me. I have to really motivate myself to get going. He gets frustrated with me because I am slow. I get annoyed with him because he is fast. After a few tries at running together, we both came to the agreement that we just wouldn’t run together. The only time we run together is if Nat is done and he turns around to come find me and get my butt into gear.

He is such a good husband. He doesn’t let me quit.

I hope everyone is having a great week! Happy summer!

Leave a Reply

