Strawberry Heaven

I am married to a strawberry farmer’s son.There are major perks: the main being the strawberries.

IMG_0921 There is nothing like a strawberry freshly picked from the ground. I am telling you- go to a farmer’s market, go to a stand, try a strawberry that is fresh- not from the grocery store. It will change your life.

I know, I’m being dramatic, but really, I love strawberries. Nat and I ate four quarts in a weekend with little to no regret. When I came home with our berries, I knew I wanted to make strawberry shortcake. One of my favorite combos is strawberries and cool whip, and it can only get better with a little cake, right?

The recipe I made was very simple and very yummy. My pictures are from my iPhone, but it seems like life nowadays is seen through an instragram filter anyway.

Strawberry Shortcake:

1.5 pounds strawberries, stemmed and quartered. (I feel like Nat and I ended up eating more than 1.5 pounds, but we also ate this in 2 days.)

5 tablespoons sugar

2 cups all purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

3/4  teaspoon salt

1.5 cups heaving whipping cream

Mix strawberries and 3 tablespoons sugar, refrigerate until juices develop- about 30 minutes. I cut mine before I made dinner and then let them sit until we were ready for dessert.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees

Mix the dry ingredients together. Stir in the whipping cream until just combined.

Put in an ungreased 8 x 8 baking dish.  Bake until golden, 18 to 20 minutes

After it bakes, let cool slightly. Cut into pieces.

IMG_0908Usually with strawberry short cake, you are supposed to have a layered thing going on. Nat and I just put strawberries on top of the cake and then covered it with cool whip. Let me tell you, you can never have enough cool whip.

Leave a Reply

