The Football Wife

Hi, my name is Sarah, and I am a football wife.

Somedays I feel like I need to introduce myself, especially during the months of August-November.

My life revolves around someone else’s schedule, my Friday nights are always filled, and I am living the single life most days of the week.

Last season was my first official season as a football wife. I have been a football girlfriend and a football fiance, but neither of those seasons prepared me for being a football wife.

It is hard to explain to people who aren’t around me often why I can’t do things on Friday, or why, if they do suggest getting dinner, I have to go at 6 because the game starts at 7:30 and I can’t be late.

I am a football wife and that is ok with me.

I know that Sunday afternoons are spent alone. I won’t eat dinner until at least 7:30 every week night. I know we are always going to be late to places during the week, because we never know when practice will be over. My weekend activities only exist on Saturday afternoons, because Friday nights and Sunday afternoons are taken.

I am a football wife, and it is not easy, but it is worth it.

I get to see my husband do what he is called to do.

I get to see the fruit of his labor at least once a week. I am lucky enough to teach at the same school he coaches at, so I get to see the young football players grow and persevere and also love my husband. I am so blessed to be able to be a part of my husband’s passion.

I am hoping and praying that this upcoming season will be better than the last. I am praying that every year it gets a little easier. I want to fall into my role of a coach’s wife with a little less resistance. I want to buy in.

This fall will be interesting. Year 2 of everything will be starting: marriage, teaching, football. Here is to hoping that a little experience will help make the next year better.

 

Leave a Reply

