Feeling Anxious

I am an anxious person. It runs in my family, and it has only gotten worse with time. I worry about what the little things like what I am going to wear in the morning to the big things like money.

Lately my anxiety has controlled me. All I can think about is the unknown.

Yesterday, I finally decided I  had enough. I was sick of the list that kept running through my head. I was tired on thinking and rethinking. I feel like I’ve chewed over things too many times.

I looked in the back of my Bible for verses about anxiety and worry and found

1 Peter 5:7 Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares for you.

I read that verse and took it literally.

I made a list of all of the things that I am anxious about. Here is part of that list:

Running 100 miles next month

Making it through this week

Being busy

Money

What color I am going to paint the mirror in the guest room

EOCs in 2 weeks

This is not the entire list, not even close, but I made this list and I gave it to God. I have had enough. This is going to be a daily surrender of the list. I am probably going to add things and subtract things. I am tired of being anxious. I am casting these worries and cares on God because He cares for me. It is as simple as that. Because he cares for me, I can cast my cares and worries on him. Daily. Whenever I am worried. Thank you, Father for that gift.

 

2 thoughts on “Feeling Anxious

  1. Will you please put a follow by email thing on your blog. I just found this today and only because I checked my google plus which I never do! This was great! Crazy how my blog post today dovetailed this and I didn’t even try. : )

Leave a Reply

