the best cookies in my life.

I love to bake and that is a problem. It is a problem for a couple of reasons- 1) I like to eat what I bake, 2) I am trying to get in shape and eat less sweets. There is no way on earth that I can eat healthy while loving to bake. I can’t BAKE healthy things. The things I love to make use butter- the real stuff, not “I can’t believe its not butter.” They use sugar. I am a sucker for the unhealthy things in life.

Lord, help me. I will never be able to be successful on a diet and I am okay with it, because of these cookies. There is something special about baked goods with m&m’s baked in, or put on top, or eaten while baking. Whatever.DSC_0406

These are seriously the best cookies I have ever made in my life- no joke. Now, before you judge me for bragging on myself, let me tell you- I rarely brag on myself. I usually compliment after someone else compliments. I’m not the first person to say “wasn’t [insert something I make] the absolute best!”

I didn’t invent this recipe. I am not on that level of talent when it comes to baking. I got the recipe from my favorite blog How Sweet it Is. I was a little concerned about these because you melt the butter rather than soften it, and they make giant cookies. I am the kind of girl that makes small cookies so I can eat more than one. That rule was out the door with these bad boys. They are huge, chewy, and amazing.

Amazing M&M Cookies

2 cups + 2 tablespoons all purpose flour

1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1 1/2 sticks (12 tablespoons) of salted butter, melted and cooled

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

1 egg + 1 egg yolk, at room temperature

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 cup mini m&m’s

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Mix the flour and baking soda in a bowl and set aside. In another bowl mix the butter and sugars until they are combined.

Make sure the butter is cooled, or else your dough will get really sticky. You could say that is a bad thing, but really, it gives you an excuse to eat cookie dough. Win Win.

Add the egg + egg yolk and vanilla and stir until mix. Add in the flour mixture gradually and mix until a dough forms. Don’t be afraid to use your hands.

Divide the dough how you choose. You can make really big cookies, or really small cookies- completely up to you.DSC_0414

These are much better when they are BIG. Roll each chunk of dough into a ball. You can do what the original recipe says and tear the dough in half, and then stack the two chunks on top each other- its completely up to you.

 

 

Bake for 12-15 minutes (large cookies) or 8-12 minutes (small cookies).

DSC_0418Don’t overbake these cookies. They are so chewy and moist and you don’t want to miss out on the deliciousness. Seriously- these are that good.

Leave a Reply

