Setting Goals

My relationship with running is like a relationship with an old friend. We hang out all the time, talk often, and then we drift apart. After awhile, when we get back together, its like nothing has changed. I think running and I are in the we just got back together stage. Nothing has changed. I feel good. I feel encouraged with every mile I go. I like the strength I’m getting back, as well as the wonderful, addictive tired feeling at the end of the day when I run. It has been awhile since I’ve felt this good.

Nat and I signed up for the Knoxville half marathon and since then I’ve sort of forced myself into running again. I LOVE IT. I love waking up on Saturday mornings and pounding the pavement for 10 miles. It is so addicting.

IMG_0625 IMG_0607 IMG_0664

I feel encouraged every time I look and see my growth week by week. My goal- for the time being- is to get back in shape. I want to make running a priority. The nice weather is definitely going to help, but I also need to¬†prioritize. I need to do something that makes me feel good for me. So my goal is not to run a marathon again (not yet), it is not to become a 9 min mile runner, it is to make running a consistent part of my week. I’m hoping that during the week, Monday-Friday, I can run about 15 miles with a long run on Saturdays. I’m hoping that by saying this out loud (well, typing out loud) I will stay accountable to myself. Here goes nothing! I’m looking forward to April 7th. Bring it on Knoxville!

 

Leave a Reply

