Daylight Savings

Sometimes I feel like I am in the driver’s seat of the struggle bus. Seriously, the last week I have felt like I am a slug. I come home from work and I’m tired. I’m tired on the weekend and I hadn’t cooked in quite a few nights. Thankfully Nat and I made a stop at Sam’s and he got a large pack of hot dogs and that has been good for him on the (many) nights I haven’t wanted to cook. One of the biggest adjustments I’ve had to make since getting married is eating regular meals. In college I could make it 5 nights eating just baked potatoes for dinner. Nat, however, cannot. Luckily, he is a champ and he will eat hot dogs for a few days in a row.

Thankfully daylight savings time is finally here. I LOVE daylight savings time. I love having extra hours with the sun. I feel more awake and more able to keep going all day. Today was the first day in a few days I felt great. Nat and I went to the track meet at the school, and when we got home I was actually in the mood to cook for us. I think the sunshine might have had something to do with my mood- or the fact that Nat reminded me we will be in Disney World in 2 weeks (HALLELUJAH!)

Tonight I made one of my favorite, easy meals- chicken tenders.

I found this recipe on Martha Stewart’s website many many moons ago. I passed it on to my sister and dad and we all love it.. They are very simple and very yummy.

Chicken Tenders

1/3 cup flour (I really use about 1/2 cup just to make sure I have enough…)

1 large egg, lightly beaten

2 Tbs olive oil

1/2 lb chicken breast tenderloins (The package I used today had 4 chicken tenders in it. A perfect portion size for the two of us)

4 cups Rice Krispy cereal

salt and pepper, to taste.

Pre heat oven to 475 degrees. Place the flour in a shallow bowl and egg in a second shallow bowl. Pulse cereal and olive oil in a food processor. (I have an awesome, small, manual food processor from Pampered Chef– it is perfect for a meal like this!) Put the cereal mixture into a third shallow bowl. (Another product from Pampered Chef are their coating trays. They are the perfect trays to use to coat anything).

Coat chicken: first in the flour, shake off any excess. Second, in the egg- let extra drip off. Third, coat chicken in the cereal mixture. You will have to press the chicken down to make the cereal stick.

DSC_0379

 

Place the coated chicken onto a baking sheet and cook until golden brown- about 10-15 minutes, flipping once halfway through.

DSC_0392

 

Nat was a little hungry…and these are so yummy. We had some mixed veggies and rice with them. I hope you enjoy the chicken and daylight savings!

DSC_0396

 

 

2 thoughts on “Daylight Savings

Leave a Reply

