Comfort Macaroni

IMG_0630

There are days where I am just plain homesick. I never am really homesick for a place. I could easily say that Munford, Tennessee is my “home,” but really, wherever my family is- that is where I am homesick for.  I am a family person. That personality trait has gotten stronger with age; I think because I see my family much less frequently than in the past. We all live in different places, and the distance is only going to get greater the older we get, but the time we spend together is so precious now. I am blessed with an amazing family.

I think because I am such a food person, it is only natural that my homesickness can be curbed by certain foods. Some foods just say “home” to me and comfort more than my stomach, but my heart. One of those foods is macaroni with butter and parmesan cheese. When I introduced my husband to this combination he was very skeptical and very confused. I don’t think I even told him about this meal until we were married. I needed him to be fully committed first.

I don’t really know why or how I started eating this combination. All I know is that my mom made it for me and my sister and we were hooked. I think they are the only other 2 people in this world who really, truly love it, and that is ok. It is not a healthy meal, considering the ingredients are pasta, butter, and cheese- but who cares? Saturday afternoons always make me crave this simple dish. I think that is when we ate it most. Who knows, really?

This is really simple, and this post isn’t meant to be a recipe post, but if you really want to know.

Cook macaroni pasta according to the directions on the box. Cook as much as you think you are going to need. Drain the pasta, and while it is still steaming, put a pat of butter in a bowl and toss the pasta with the butter. Sprinkle as much parmesan cheese on top as your heart desires! This is not a diet food, so don’t skimp!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Comfort Macaroni

  1. Pingback: Comfort Food: Mac & Cheese | Today

Leave a Reply

