Valentine’s Day

This was our first Valentine’s Day as a married couple. I’m not a huge Valentine’s Day fan- i’d rather have love shown all the time rather than when we are told to. Nat says he doesn’t like it that much because it puts a lot of pressure on men. Regardless of our distaste, we still celebrated…twice.

I do have to say, I am so blessed by my husband. I am grateful that I have a permanent Valentine. There are days that I need to pinch myself to make sure that my life is real. I think (and my family would agree) that it takes a special person to marry me. 1W5A2022 copy

I am not an easy person to deal with all of the time, but Nat does a great job. Our life is so fun right now. I am more blessed than I deserve to be. Thank you, Lord for this man1W5A0360 copy

 

On Thursday, actual Valentine’s Day, we stayed home and I cooked dinner for us. I knew that I would be too tired to try and go out and deal with crowds. However, I wasn’t too tired to cook- especially something as delicious as what I made.

This recipe was healthy, all “real” (well, the chicken wasn’t organic, but I’m getting there), and very yummy. I got it off of Real Simple’s website and only changed using chicken breasts with the skin on, to boneless, skinless chicken breasts.

Pan-Roasted Chicken with Lemon Garlic Green Beans

6 tablespoons of olive oil

2 lemons- 1 thin sliced, 1 juiced*

4 cloves garlic, minced

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

3/4 pound green beans

8 small red potatoes quartered

4 chicken breasts

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Oil a baking dish and line with the lemon slices in a single layer.

Mix the rest of the olive oil, garlic, lemon juice, salt, and pepper together in a large bowl.

Add the green beans to the mixture and toss to coat. Using a slotted spoon, remove the green beans and place them in the baking dish on top of the lemons.

DSC_0297(isn’t that a pretty dish!)

Add the potatoes to the mixture and toss to coat. Using a slotted spoon, remove the potatoes and place them in the inside edges of the baking dish on top of the green beans.

Finally, place the chicken in the mixture and toss to coat. Using a slotted spoon, remove the chicken and place in the middle of the baking dish on top of the green beans. Pour the extra olive oil mixture on top of the chicken.

DSC_0303

*The lemon I used was very large, and I have an incredible hand held juicer from Pampered Chef, and there was a lot of juice. After it was cooked some of the green beans were a little lemony. I would probably only use half the second lemon’s juice.

Place the baking dish in the oven for 50 minutes. After 50 minutes, take the chicken out of the dish and place aside (I just put mine on a plate and covered it with aluminum foil). Let the potatoes and green beans cook for another 10 minutes.

DSC_0306

This makes enough for 3-4 people, but Nat and I cleaned it up pretty well. There was a chicken breast left because they were huge. The potatoes and green beans, however, didn’t stand a chance.

2 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day

Leave a Reply

