Going Green

20130213-165314.jpg

I’m toying with the idea of going on a “real food” diet experiment. I’ve been researching about processed foods and GMOs and the like, and I feel like processed food may be the culprit for some of my issues. Many people who have cut processed food from their diets have expressed great changes in energy and the way their bodies feel in general.

I suffer majorly from fatigue. I am always tired regardless of the amount I sleep. It is frustrating and paralyzing. More than anything I want to feel energetic and get some of my life back after the school hours. Cutting out processed food is going to be difficult. Packing a lunch every day lends itself to the convenience of lunch meat, potato chips, and oreos.

This weekend I’ve decided I’m going to look into what foods I am definitely cutting out and what changes are completely feasible¬†for right now. I don’t think I’m going to be able to jump in cold turkey, but I am willing to try.

Today I gave my first small attempt. Instead of my normal after school snack of oreos- I decided to try a “green” smoothie. It really was just a random mixture of things, but it turned out pretty good! I was nervous about the literal green color from the spinach, but putting in strawberries and peaches made it taste pretty sweet. I’m going to keep experimenting and researching and hopefully I will find more recipes that are delicious while also being green and “real.”

My Recipe:

2 handfuls of raw spinach

4 frozen strawberries, cut in halves

3 frozen peach slices

1/2 cup of greek yogurt

1/4 cup of water

Blend together and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

