Super Bowl Blessings

I am so thankful for Knoxville and the community that we have been blessed with. It is really fun to have a lot of good friends in our city. Some nights I feel like I should pinch myself because of how blessed I feel. It can’t be real.

I am developing deep Southern habits and one of those is hosting parties. I love to have people in our home. I love to cook for people, and just live life together. Our apartment may be small, but the welcome is big and I always try to make people feel like they can come in whenever.

One of my favorite parties to throw is a Super Bowl party. Most people would say what?!? You hate football! I don’t hate football- I am just getting to know it a little better. I like Super Bowl parties because in my mind it is the celebration of the last football game of the season. (I like to put a positive twist on things) The real #1 reason why I love Super Bowl parties is the snacks. There is nothing like a good Super bowl snack fest. I made a delicious new treat this year. My mom made it over Christmas and I couldn’t wait until I could make it again, and the Super Bowl was the best time.

Crunchy Chicken Bacon bites. (aka awesome on a toothpick)

*Also, I am practicing my food photography, so this is my first real shot at it using my Nikon rather than my iPhone and instagram.

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1 inch chunks
8 oz. sour cream or plain yogurt
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. pepper
1/4 tsp. garlic powder
1 package bacon, cut in half (making for about 4-inch strips)
1 small box corn flakes, crushed
Toothpicks
Soak the chicken in sour cream, salt, pepper and garlic powder for 15 minutes.
DSC_0280
Place the crushed corn flakes in a shallow bowl and roll each chicken chunk until covered. (By the way, I use pampered chef coating tools. They are awesome! I no longer have to search throughout the kitchen for a shallow bowl.)
DSC_0275
DSC_0281
Wrap each chicken chunk in a piece of bacon and secure with a toothpick. Let me tell you- when these are cooking and the bacon is getting crispy and delicious…there is not a candle in the world that smells better.
DSC_0284
Place on a cookie sheet and bake at 350 for 20 minutes.
And the finished product is delicious, crispy, and bite size. What more could you want? And did I mention that these are wrapped in bacon?
DSC_0289
I hope you enjoy these. Once again- not healthy, but yummy and great for a crowd to enjoy.
DSC_0299

 

Leave a Reply

